Photos and Lessons Learned from my First All-Day Crop

100_3818smOn Oct. 3, I attended my first 11-hour crop, Celebrate Northern Virginia, at the Fredericksburg Expo Center. What an awesome and fun experience! There were more than 900 scrappers – all Creative Memories consultants and their customers. I completed dozens of album pages over those 11 hours, attended classes, tried out new products and got tons of new page design ideas. I’m sharing a few of them here. Check out all of my photos from the day on flickr.com.

100_3819smHere is my four feet of table space at the crop. I worked on a 12×12 album about beach vacations my family has taken over the years and then I began work on an 8×8 Christmas album. I used the Power Layouts system before the crop to organize my pages and photos so I could quickly assemble the pages at the event.

100_3795smThere were hundreds of album page layout ideas on display for us to photograph. Here is a creative one that made use of Creative Memories’ puzzle-piece shape maker. The pieces are laid out on one of the Discover papers.

100_3796smI think this might have been my favorite layout idea. This page is gorgeous and uses Jewel Heritage paper and journaling boxes. This paper is available while supplies last…

100_3799smI am including this one because the little frog in the middle is the cutest!

100_3813smOne of my upcoming projects will be an album about my elementary school days and I really liked this layout idea for that kind of album. This uses Graduation Perfect Fit paper (also available while supplies last on my site).

100_3826smThere were make-and-takes stations at this crop where you could try out the different shape makers and other products. I tried out the new Stardust Maker and Precision Point Adhesive when I made this little Christmas tree.

100_3827smOne of the classes I attended was about taking advantage of small scraps of paper to make embellishments like this flower.


100_3824sm

Lessons learned:

  • Sort your photos ahead of time.
  • Take a pillow to sit on!
  • Attend the classes (my friend Sandra, above, taught one on using wallet-sized and other small photos in your layouts).
  • Walk around. Take pictures of layout ideas. This helped to break up the day and moving around kept me from feeling too stiff.

The same site has already been reserved for another crop on October 2 October 16, 2010 (new date!)I plan to attendlet me know if you want to join me!

2 thoughts on “Photos and Lessons Learned from my First All-Day Crop

  1. Matt Slicer says:

    Great photos…sounds like it was a fun time.

    But 11 hours…sheesh.

  2. [...] Memories fan, I told her about an upcoming 11-hour crop near her neck of the woods in October (see my write-up from last year’s event). She was excited to hear about it and I hope she’ll join me [...]

Leave a Reply

