Only My Fellow Genealogists Will Understand

I did something pretty darn nerdy this evening. I spent about an hour at the University Archives at the University of Maryland, College Park (my undergraduate alma mater and also where I received my MLS). With my college transcript by my side, I went through copies of the schedule of classes from my undergrad years and reconstructed my class schedule for each semester.

Why on earth would I do such a thing? I was inspired to recreate my class schedules for a scrapbook I’m putting together about my college years. I found some grid paper that is meant to be a calendar, but when turned on its side is the perfect format for filling in what classes I took and when, Monday through Friday. I think I have enough for all eight semesters.

Only my genealogist friends will understand why I not only needed to know what classes I took, but also when I took them. I wanted to depict what my daily life was like throughout the year (like the semester I had 8 a.m. classes Monday thru Thursday — bleck!).  I’m glad I went through the exercise. Piecing together my schedule for each semester brought back a flood of memories for me and I intend to write some of them down and include those in the scrapbook too.

Another plus to my hour at the Archives — I was the only patron there because it’s early in the semester. I had the place all to myself and I got to catch up with University Archivist Anne Turkos who is one of the smartest, coolest people on the entire campus (and who took the time to point me to the archived schedules when I first inquired about them).

So, a worthwhile exercise, but some folks just aren’t going to understand. I tried describing my goal to one of my coworkers and she said, “Yeah, that is kinda nerdy.” Ah well.

7 thoughts on “Only My Fellow Genealogists Will Understand

  1. Greta Koehl says:

    Nerdiness in the pursuit of information is no sin!

  2. Kerry says:

    That’s not even a little bit nerdy, IMO.

    • missylc@gmail.com says:

      Thanks, you two. I don’t really think it is either, but I know many others who would disagree.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  3. I wish I had the disciplined mind to accomplish that. Great feat!

  4. Ginger Smith says:

    Um…so is it nerdy if you can still remember what classes you had when without looking it up? I think you and I are about the same age…

  5. Nerdiness rules!!! I think that is a great idea and might even have to do that myself. I would love to write about my college years and that would be a fantastic way to jog the ol memory.

Leave a Reply

