Holiday Happenings

This is post #15 in the GeneaBloggers Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories and is dedicated to my cousins Shannon and Kevin.

My family is one of holiday birthdays. My cousin, Kevin, was born on Halloween. Another cousin, Shannon, on Christmas. I was born the day before Thanksgiving, and so I get a turkey dinner for my big day every five years or so.

I’ve never minded having a birthday near Thanksgiving. In fact, it’s been advantageous to have those days off to celebrate. I’ve always loved the certainty of having my family gathered around me on or near my birthday.

My birthday is just far enough away from Xmas to avoid the dreaded present combo that my cousin Shannon has certainly faced every year. She also has the advantage of having her birthday fall on a national holiday, but at what cost?

Kevin, of course, gets to have tons of candy and cake on his birthday. And I’m sure he’s had a few raucous costume parties along the way. ;o)

Love to all my Wild family cousins: Cindy, Lee, Kevin, Kelly, Shannon and Daniel! And if there are any CORLEY cousins out there that wish to identify themselves, drop me a note!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Happenings

  1. Joanna Corley says:

    The Corley’s seem to have spread to far reaches of the earth. Hello from a Corley in Atlanta, Georgia!

    • baysideresearch says:

      So excited to “meet” you Joanna — it’s true, we Corleys are everywhere! I’ve even heard from a Corley in Idaho. We’ll have to compare notes sometime to see if we’re related!

Leave a Reply

