Happy Birthday, Obediah Basham (b. 1760)

Dear Reader: Do you think you are related to the individuals listed in this post? Please drop me a note! I love hearing from cousins and others researching my family!

One of my 4th great grandfathers was Obediah Basham, who was born on April 7 in 1760 (or 1758, according to some records) in Cumberland County, Virginia. He was a Revolutionary War soldier and there is a lengthy pension file about him (I still need to transcribe it). Numerous folks have used him as entree into the DAR. He has a FindaGrave page, but no photo of his gravestone in Kentucky (his wife’s is available and it is crudely engraved). Obediah’s daughter Delilah married into the Corley family.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Obediah Basham (b. 1760)

  1. Sandra says:

    Hello Missy,
    Just reading your post. Obediah was my 5th great grandfather. My uncle Eddie and I did extensive research on our Basham Ancestry while researching one day as we were driving Obediahs revolutionary memorial headstone was spotted sitting on the porch of the museum.
    His grave is marked however, by the foot and head placement stones they use to use his initials had been engraved upon the stones.
    We were in the process of getting cemetery cleaned, mowed and actually was making plans to place wrought iron fence around it in order to keep cows out of the family plot after which we wanted to place Obediahs memorial stone.
    Anyways my beloved uncle Eddie passed away and most everything has been placed on back burner.
    I do have pictures of the stone if you’d like a copy I can send to you.
    Hopefully if plans go right Daryl, my fiance, and I will be able to complete what we had started.

    • Hi Sandra! Thanks so much for your note. I would love to see a photo of his grave. My email address is missylc@gmail.com. I’m sorry to hear about your uncle. I’m glad you plan to carry on his work!

    • Andrea Lyon says:

      Hello! I am also currently research my ancestry and have discovered Obediah was my 5th great grandfather through my dad’s side.

      Could you also send me pictures of his headstone? It would mean a lot to me and add to my ancestry picture file. My email is Andreamlyon@yahoo.com.

      I am currently stuck on trying to figure out who Obediah’s dad was as there are many family trees on Ancestry.com that list it as William, Bartlett or James.

      Also, I am also sorry to hear about the loss of your uncle.

      Thank you.
      Andrea

Leave a Reply

